East’s Guttridge wins first wrestling title for 205 in 20 years

CHAMPAIGN – Aydin Guttridge of East ended his career on the ultimate high note, beating Justin Hall of St. Charles, 3-1, Saturday night to win the IHSA 3A 285-pound wrestling title.

Guttridge’s title is the fifth by a District 205 wrestler and the first since 1999.

The title didn’t come easy. Guttridge entered the tournament 35-2 and the top seed. He pinned Fernando Corona of Leyden in his opening match then edged Lloyd Reynolds of Edwardsville 4-1 to reach the semifinals. Guttridge held off Ashford Hollis of Oak Park River Forest 5-2 to reach the title match.

The title caps a remarkable climb by Guttridge, which was detailed by the Rockford Register Star. The future University of Wisconsin wrestler is the first to win an IHSA wrestling title since Aaron Powers won for East in 1999 at 198 pounds.

Here’s the complete list of District 205 wrestling champions:

1965 – Dan Vernetti, East, 127 pounds
1980 – Greg Evans, Jefferson, 138 pounds
1997 – Ben Mena, East, 160 pounds
1999 – Aaron Powers, East, 198 pounds
2019 – Aydin Guttridge, East, 285 pounds

Posted on 02.16.19