East, Auburn boys cross country teams advance to sectionals

ROCKFORD – Nineteen Rockford School District boys cross country runners qualified for sectionals at Saturday’s Rockford Guilford IHSA Class 3A regional.

East finished fourth and Auburn sixth as teams in the eight-team regional, advancing as teams, while five Guilford runners advanced as individuals. For Auburn, it marked the first time its entire team advanced out of a regional since 2008.

Auburn junior Jonah Garcia topped two-time NIC-10 champion Noah Friske as the top District 205 performer in the regionals. Garcia, who finished fourth in last wee’s NIC-10 meet, took eighth in the regional with a three-mile time of 16:11. Friske cruised in next at ninth with a time of 16:19.

Auburn sophomore Peter Maculan came in 16th and East senior Carson Olofson was 19th.

Here’s the complete list of advancers:
Runner (school), place, time

Rockford (East)

Noah Friske (Sr.) 9 16:19
Carson Olofson (Sr.) 19 17:05
Miles Lang (Fr.) 25 17:30
Leonard Curtis (Jr.) 31 17:57
Jack Bathje (Jr.) 33 18:16
Josphin Ndjebe (Jr.) 37 18:28
Leo Bueno (Fr.) 48 19:24

Rockford (Auburn)

Jonah Garcia (Jr.) 8 16:11
Peter Maculan (So.) 16 16:57
Aron Tatman (So.) 34 18:22
Matt Seigel (Sr.) 39 18:29
Ryan Sweeney (Jr.) 40 18:30
Matt Blessing (Jr.) 42 18:34
Cayden Schroeder (So.) 46 19:01

Advancing individuals

Emon Johnson (So.) Rockford (Guilford) 27 17:34
Owen Dahlberg (Fr.) Rockford (Guilford) 28 17:49
Joe Gibbons (So.) Rockford (Guilford) 38 18:28
Jackson Durso (Fr.) Rockford (Guilford) 41 18:32
Esteban Castanon (So.) Rockford (Guilford) 43 18:51

Posted on 10.21.18