Skridla, Eisenhower bringing home IESA bowling titles

JOLIET – Devan Skridla and his Eisenhower Middle School teammates made history this weekend in the Illinois Elementary School Association state bowling tournament.

IESA boys bowling champion Devan Skridla of Eisenhower.

Skridla became the second RPS 205 boys bowler to win an IESA state bowling title since the organization began holding the event in 2011. Skridla’s effort also led Eisenhower to the first team IESA bowling title – boys or girls – in RPS 205 history.

The Eagles recorded a score of 7,455 over 10 games – or an average of 183.3 per game per bowler – beating perennial state bowling power Loves Park Harlem by 68 pins.

The IESA has been holding a state bowling tournament since 2013 and before Saturday, the best an RPS 205 school had done was a pair of 10th place finishes by Marshall in 2014 and 2015.

The format calls for four bowlers each game. The Eagles had three bowlers bowl all 10, Skridla, Job Salberg and Campbell Russo. Russo had a score of 1,837 over the 10 games and Salberg recorded a 1,892.

Skridla was hot from beginning to end. He had seven games over 200 and four over 220 for a 2,090. His 203 in the 10th game was just enough to hold off Ryan Marszalek of New Lenox Martino, who finished with a 221 for a 2,088.

It was the first RPS boys bowling title since Matthew Seigel won state in 2015 for Marshall.

RESA’s Jermanion Simmons qualified for the tournament as an individual and finished 11th with 1,950.

The Eisenhower boys team wasn’t the only group of bowlers making history Saturday. Flinn’s girls team took sixth, tying the best girls finish in RPS 205 history, which was accomplished by last year’s Falcons girls bowling team.

Flinn was led by Ashley Harkey, who finished ninth overall with a score of 1,795 over 10 games.

Harkey is the third RPS 205 girls bowler to finish in the top 10 in IESA girls bowling history. Current Auburn bowling star Caitlyn Bannister finished second in 2017 for Marshall.

Leann Severson was 21st overall for Flinn and Fallon Perry was 32nd.

Posted on 04.13.19