Auburn boys tennis dominates NIC-10 meet

The Auburn Knights won their third straight NIC-10 boys tennis championship this weekend in dominating style.

The Knights were undefeated in dual-meet action and then won four of the five divisions to easily outpace second-place Hononegah.

Chris Park was the big winner, defeating Hononegah’s Thomas Ptacin, 6-1, 7-6, in No. 1 singles. Park will graduate with three NIC-10 tennis titles in three tries. Park was the No. 2 singles champion in 2018, again beating Ptacin. In 2019, he teamed up with Drew Licari to win No. 1 doubles. There was no boys tennis meet last year because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Auburn then swept all three doubles tournaments.

Sharankumar Kamaraj and Licari won the No. 1 doubles title with a 6-0, 6-2 win over a team from Hononegah. Isaac Bernsten and Dhruv Ramaswami dominated Andrew Roberts and Campbell Russo from Guilford, 6-2, 6-0. The best title match came at No. 3 doubles where Martin Bernsten and Varun Granaseker split two sets with Guilford’s Leo Debruler and Wyatt Lane. Bernsten and Granaseker then won the tiebreaker, 11-9.

Auburn won the NIC-10 tennis title in 2018 and 2019.

Posted on 06.01.21