1997 East crowned greatest NIC-10 wrestling team

ROCKFORD – The Rockford Register Star recruited seven area wrestling experts to have a mythical NIC-10 wrestling meet.

Four of the 10 teams were from Rockford Public Schools – 1980 Jefferson, and 1975, 1987, 1997 teams from East High School.

The Register Star published the results of the meet Sunday and this group of judges picked the 1997 E-Rabs as the top NIC-10 tournament team in conference history.

Coached by Perry Giardini, those E-Rabs featured seven conference champions, six state qualifiers and one state champion in Ben Mena.

Click here to see how it all played out!

Posted on 02.22.21