19 things to celebrate from 2019: No 3 – Guttridge brings back title

East’s Aydin Guttridge became just the fifth wrestler in Rockford Public Schools history – and first in 20 years – to win an IHSA wrestling title.

The 285-pounder beat Justin Hall of St. Charles, 3-1, to win the IHSA 3A championship.

The title didn’t come easy. Guttridge entered the tournament 35-2 and the top seed. He pinned Fernando Corona of Leyden in his opening match then edged Lloyd Reynolds of Edwardsville 4-1 to reach the semifinals. Guttridge held off Ashford Hollis of Oak Park River Forest 5-2 to reach the title match.

The title caps a remarkable climb by Guttridge, which was detailed by the Rockford Register Star. The future University of Wisconsin wrestler is the first to win an IHSA wrestling title since Aaron Powers won for East in 1999 at 198 pounds.

Guttridge injured himself this past summer and is helping the East wrestling program as a volunteer coach. He will wrestle collegiately for North Carolina beginning next year.

Here’s the complete list of District 205 wrestling champions:

1965 – Dan Vernetti, East, 127 pounds
1980 – Greg Evans, Jefferson, 138 pounds
1997 – Ben Mena, East, 160 pounds
1999 – Aaron Powers, East, 198 pounds
2019 – Aydin Guttridge, East, 285 pounds

Posted on 12.31.19